Books and bookstores

I’m an avid reader, I’ll read any book on just about any topic, which means I buy a large number of books and also spend a lot of time at the library.

I admit I have an iPad with the Kindle app, and I have a large number of titles on it. Amazon is one of the big bads of the local movement, and I probably shouldn’t buy anything from Amazon if I can help it.  But I also live in 152 square feet, it makes it a bit difficult to store all my books. My general rule is that I can have second (in some cases third or fourth copies) in digital but I had to have read the print version first. Clear example of this would be the three full set of print copies of Harry Potter, and the one digital copy.

My local bookstore gets a decent amount of business from me, while I won’t admit to how much I spend there (a big number) I will tell you how many titles I bought this year, 25. Goodness, that’s a lot of books, but some books just don’t do well in electronic copy. Example being the amazing coloring books I just bought (bringing my total to 3 copies of each The Secret Garden: An Inky Treasure Hunt and The Enchanted Forest: An Inky Quest) and the growing collection of Storey Publishing books on various aspects of animal husbandry.

I really like the two public libraries in the area, but the little on in Bayfield is much nicer than the Durango one. When I go there to get a book, it ends up being a stack of books.

One thought on “Books and bookstores

Leave a Reply

