Budgets

I’ve spent most of today working on start of the month accounting, boring even to an account nerd like me. However it serves an important purpose.

One of my goals is to shift an additional 10% of our spending to local vendors- to do that I have to know where our money goes right now and how much of it we have.

Currently all our dining out dollars and booze money goes local (partly because of preference and partly due to liquor laws in Colorado). So things I CAN move, entertainment dollars (once we can go places again), grocery dollars, and clothing dollars.

I’m going to focus on moving grocery dollars local this month, I’ve got some Be Local coupons picked out to help with this and I’ve got a meat supplier so its eggs and dairy that are the tricky ones.

Of course this is the wrong time of year to be trying to buy local fruit and veggies in Colorado, but we’ll see what we can do.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

